That’s not how you do it.

Image source: fitsugar.com

So, I’ve discovered that I’ve been doing most of my weight-training incorrectly. What a way to a quick and nasty injury!!
All this time, no-one at the gym has said anything to me, maybe it was them minding their own business or they didn’t know how to correctly train either.

In the short time that I’ve started training, I’ve come to realise that there are some tips on how to minimise injury during a weight-training work-out. I wished that someone would had told me before I started.

How are my tips:

ALWAYS WARM UP
You can not go straight to the barbells when you hit the gym, you need to warm up first. 5 – 10 mins on the treadmill will warm up your muscles nicely before you get into weight-training.

DON’T TAKE ON MORE THAN YOU CAN HANDLE
I’m sure everyone has done this before, you think you can handle a lot, when in fact you can only handle a little. You need to work your way up. Start small (but not too small that it’s easy), it still needs to be challenging for you. I tend to go by the rule: 8 reps x 3 sets, if I’m able to do this without struggle then I need to add more weight. Keep adding more weight every time you find that it gets too ‘easy’.

STAND IN FRONT OF THE MIRROR
I used to think ‘OMG – only vain people stand in front of mirrors whilst working out’ but in theory, it’s a great way to see if you’re actually doing it correctly. It’s also a great way to monitor your progress.

MAKE SURE YOU ALWAYS HAVE YOUR BACK STRAIGHT
If you’re starting a new work-out, read up on it and watch youtube videos on how to correctly do the exercise. There’s no benefit in doing it incorrectly and it will only lead to injury.

That’s all the tips that I can think of at the moment. Hit me up if you can think of others.

Also, please note that these tips work for me and but may not work for others.

Thanks for reading and happy training!

Piggie

5 thoughts on “That’s not how you do it.

  1. Good luck with your weight training. I learnt about injuries the hard way too. Then I switched to a much better trainer which also helped me lose weight much faster (she was all about back strength and intervals which worked really well for me).

Leave a Reply

